Board History

We are still gathering history of MIEA for the 25th Annual Conference in Billings, March 30-April 2, 2006. Thanks to Dr. Murton McCluskey who found some old MIEA Conference information, we have been able to fill in two more Boards from the early years 1982-83 and 1985-86. We need your help in identifying others Board members from the early years of MIEA.

MIEA had its first beginnings in 1974-75 and 1975-1976, with Joe Mc Donald being the first President of MIEA in 1974-75. (MIEA was first organized through a grant from the Lilly Foundation and MIEA was headquartered at the Tri-State Tribes Office in Billings, MT.)

Before MIEA organized and held annual conferences, OPI Indian Education Department used to hold annual JOM/Indian Education Conferences starting in 1970. (The 1980 Conference Brochure is shown as the 10th Annual Montana Indian Education Conference held at the Ramada Inn in Billings - Georgia Ruth Rice was the Supt. of Public Instruction).

Following are lists of MIEA Boards from 1974-75 to 1999-2000. Please review - if you have info on the early years of MIEA, please forward to me.

<u>1974-1975?</u>

Joe McDonald, Pres Mary Kendell

1975-1976?

<u>1982-83</u>

Ed. Parisian, Pres. Loren "Bum" Stiffarm Helen Ricker Karen Cornelius Murton McCluskey Harold Monteau Gerald Raining Bird Clara Spotted Elk Clinton Small Avis Three Irons Robert Parsley, Exec. Officer

1983-1984?

Stan Juneau

<u>1984-1985?</u>

Karen Fenton, Pres. Larry LaCounte

<u>1985-1986</u>

Karen Fenton, President Loren "Bum" Stiffarm VP Sandra Murie, Sec. Avis Three Irons Larry LaCounte Peggy Nagel Dr Murton McCluskey Tom Thompson Doreen Plant (High School) Bob Parsley, Exec. Dir) 1986-1987? 1987-1988? 1988-1989?

1989-1990 Board

Loren Bum Stiffarm, President Stan Juneau, Vice President Peggy Nagel, Sec/Treas. James Higgins Ken Weatherwax Jennifer LaFromboise Ivan Small Nate St. Pierre Linda Pease Rhonda Lankford

1990-91 Board

Loren Bum Stiffarm, President Ivan Small, Vice President Peggy Nagel, Sec/Treas. Stan Juneau Margie Perez Bill LaForge Gerry Raining Bird Majel Bird RoAnne Little Light Daisy Galbreath

1991-1992 Board?

Jerry Raining Bird, President Lyle McDonald Mike Sangrey Stan Juneau Robert Fox

1992-1993 Board

Robert Fox, President Dona Buckles Majel Bird Leo Brockie Michael Sangrey Desiree Lambert Andrea Brockie Vernelle Butch Chase Frances Bull Shoe Rusty Tatsey

1993-1994 Board

Theodora Weatherwax, Pres. Jackie Black Bird, Vice Pres Vicki Hough, Sec/Treas. Norma Bixby Robert Fox Barney Doney Bertha Bert Other Bull Minerva Allen Donna Buckles Robert J. Swan

1994-1995 Board

Theodora Weatherwax, Pres. Stan Juneau, Vice President Dr. Deborah Wetsit Edward Parisian Bernard Lambert Darryl Crasco Desiree Lambert Janice Brockie Paula Hawley Ramona Croff

1995-1996 Board

Sandra Murie, President Minerva Allen, Vice Pres Stan Juneau, Sec/Treas Violet Crasco Rhonda Shumway Theodora Weather Wax Deborah Wetsit Dana Croff Ed Parisian

1996-1997 Board

Theodora Weatherwax, Chair Jackie Blackbird, Vice Chair Vicky Hough, Sec/Treas Norma Bixby Lance Matthews Donna Buckles-Whitmer Robert Fox Minerva Allen Bertha Other Bull Robert Swan Loren Bum Stiffarm, Exec. Dir.

1997-1998

Theodora Weatherwax, Chair Dr. Robert Swan, Vice Chair Darcy Skunkcap, Sec/Treas. Alan Azure Robyn Baker Heather Lefthand-Ryan Bertha Bert Other Bull Erica Johnson Dona Buckles-Whitmer Dr. Al Spang Loren Bum Stiffarm, Exec. Dir

1998-1999 Board

Dr. Robert Swan, Pres. Theodora Weatherwax, Pres Dr. Al Spang, Vice Pres. Alan Azure, Sec./Treas. Daryl Wright Corey Sangrey (College) Melissa Horn (resigned) Lacretia Weatherwax Heather Lefthand-Ryan Dona Buckles-Whitmer Carol Juneau Loren Bum Stiffarm, Exec. Dir.

1999-2000 Board

Carol Juneau, Chair Norma Bixby, Vice Chair Theodora Weatherwax,Sec/Treas Robert DesRosier Daryl Wright Barbara Perry Lacretia Weatherwax Canden Wilke Dr. Alonzo Spang Ellen Swaney (Rep to Board)

Cyril Not Afraid (Rep toBoard)